Successful First Day

So I had a crazy idea. Like super duper crazy. I wanted to create my own photography business. I’ve always liked the idea of having my own business. I have envisioned owning a coffee shop or bookstore or a coffee shop bookstore. But then I would think about competing with big chains and how you would have to be open all the time and I would mentally cringe but at the same time I loved the idea of owning your employment.

For as long as I can remember I have loved the arts. Initially, I fell in love with music. Ahhh. Even the word music has a melodic ring to it. From a young age I sang, played the violin and piano. I eventually saved enough money to go buy a guitar and so for my then boyfriend’s (now husband) birthday I bought him and me a guitar each. I dropped like 800 bucks. That was fun and I was way too generous of a girlfriend (my guitar was barely 200). But that was the most money I had ever spent at one time and I still look back at it fondly. Growing up I wanted to be a performer, which I still find appealing. But I just quote Shakespeare to myself and have moved on to a different kind of stage, namely the world or at least my corner of it.

“All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players…” ~ Shakespeare

After music I fell in love with painting and went on to spend disposable income on canvases and paints. Perhaps I’ll go more in depth on my love for painting and sculpture but suffice to say my 4 month old has been to more museums than most adults!

Finally, I found myself increasingly drawn toward photography. I think that being in a very digitalized world everyone likes photography. We are living in a world of social media where we scroll through strangers photo albums. We have a certain satisfaction that comes from having a great profile picture and even more satisfaction when our likes on said photo get higher and higher. But I am not suggesting that taking photos on a phone is good. I think everyone at one point had a friend that made a photography page and was using their phone camera. Eww. I am being serious about this!

So I want to create a photography business and I mean that seriously so naturally I need a camera. But not a camera, a camera. In the back of my mind I have always been planning on purchasing an “artsy camera” as I would call it. I mentioned to my mother that I was saving for this and she goes on to tell me that my dad has a canon film camera, multiple lenses, filters, a light for a dark room and I’m just thinking a JACKPOT. Within a week I have found this mysterious camera equipment – you think you know your parents and then they surprise you. I went to a photography shop and got film and was just awaiting for a good sunny day with some natural light.

IMG_0051.JPG
Mysterious camera that my dad had

The day arrives and I spend hours trying to get film in the camera. I get so frustrated that I ruined one roll of film. After reading the one page of directions from the manual and watching two videos I finally get the film in! I was in the car at the time and I notice the sun is setting. Good lighting. I had dressed my 4 month old for a photo shoot hours before so I run out to this field and lean my 4 month old against a pole and the lighting is so perfect! I’m doing an army crawl trying to get the best angle. I’m slightly upset that my baby girl can’t sit up yet but the setting is so good that I don’t really care. I take a few shots and then decide I’m good. I get up to find I am covered in stickers. Whilst doing my army crawl I hadn’t even noticed the field had stickers in it! But they didn’t even bother me. After messing with the film for hours and figuring it out just in time for the sunset I was way too happy with what I consider a perfect first day to care about stickers.

I haven’t seen how those photos turned out yet because the roll of film still has some shots available but if they’re how I think they are it really will have been a successful first day.

Leave a Reply

