Doing What You Love

Hello, 2016.

Talbot Island seashells

 

The New Year has treated me well thus far. I really do like living in Jacksonville, Florida. As 2015 came to a close I took stock of all that has happened in the closing year – my mother in laws death, moving from an apt to a condo to Florida. Also, in 2015 I really discovered that I want to be a photographer which has then taken be to realizing I want to be an artist in other capacities. I have done a few things here and there but it would be difficult for me to claim the title photographer as an occupation. I don’t feel as if I have succeeded as an entrepreneur aspiring to be a photographer but with that said, I don’t feel as if I have failed. I love the quote by Elbert Hubbard,

“There is no failure except in no longer trying”

I have come to realize in pursuing photography that I simply love it. And as much as I would like to make an income from it I would be perfectly happy to do it for fun and as an expression of myself. Coming to this realization has been rather liberating because it takes the stress off of me to be “successful” – whatever that means. And if I keep pursing what I love, and don’t stop trying, well then there can be no failure in that.

So as 2016 has gotten into full gear I challenge you to do what you love for no other reason except you love it. Do what you love, now isn’t that fierce?

12338855_205443143127237_1825935904_n

Fiercely,

alexandria

Leave a Reply

